Fab Green Welcomes Suzi Smith

27Mar07

Suzi Smith, Guest Blogger
Beauty + Fashion + Vintage Style

Where were you born?

Beckley West Virginia. Yes, I am a coal miner’s (grand)daughter.

Describe your fashion style.

Um….Vintage Urbanite with a touch of Boho Chic\nso people may think I’m a little earthy and not wrapped up in myself. In regards to my closet, I quote Johnny Cash when looking into his own closet, “It’s dark in there.”. Seriously, I have my Summer Black and my Winter Black which I pack seasonally.

Are Ohioans as indecisive as the media makes them seem?

Fashion fetishes?
Hand bags, and coats. I can never have enough coats. Possibly shoes. Does eyes shadow count? That too. Oh, and hats. Lots of hats.

Your opinion on wearing fur? A recommended alternative?
NEVER EVER. I hate fur like you would not believe. There are lots of good synthetic alternatives now.

Your opinion on leather? A recommended alternative?
Um, ok, I wear leather. In fact I am loving this leather Rafe bag right now. BUT I justify that to myself by the fact that cows are not harvested just for their skin, like fur animals are for their coats. A good leather bag is an investment that will last a very long time. Of the 5 pair of boots I own, only one is real leather. The synthetic alternatives used these days are good though and I think technology will continue to improve in durability and style.

Favorite “green” piece in your wardrobe?
My bamboo socks! LOVE them! So soft and comfy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Your favorite vintage shops?
There is a GREAT vintage shop here in Columbus [Ohio] called Rag-O-Rama. The Goodwill and VOA (Volunteers of America) are good too, mostly because we have the Limited stores headquartered here in Columbus. Their employees get a big discount so this trickles down to finding a lot of good used clothing if you look around.

Favorite vintage find?
EASY! My 1959 (approx) soft celadon green 100% virgin cashmere cardigan. It has little mother of pearl buttons and is fantastic condition. I found it at Goodwill and it cost me $3! A little research on the internet revealed the label was from a Scottish Cashmere company.

Secrets of vintage shopping?
Go early and keep an open mind. If you are going to find some thing in particular, you will have a hard time. The thrill of the hunt is the fun part. It also never hurts to be really friendly to the staff. They are a great asset and having a friend who will keep an eye out for you is fab.

Favorite designers?

\nDKNY. CHANEL. Calvin Klein. Betsy Johnson. Rafe Tortengo. Isaac Mizrahi. ๐Ÿ™‚

Challenges you face as a midwestern girl going green?

Do you sew? Make any of your own clothes?
See, this is a funny question. About every 3 years or so I convince myself I can make all my own clothes. THEN I go buy beautiful fabric and what I end up with is a elastic waist A-line skirt and a lot of frustration. I throw up my hands and put my sewing machine away until the next time. It’s an ugly cycle.

Favorite green beauty products?
Hmm. I am addicted to Revlon Colorstay Eyeshadow quads. Revlon was one of the first companies to stop all testing on animals. I don’t know how green Revlon is beyond that, but I like their company policies and product. I am still searching for green-yet-effective skin care. Will let you all know what I find!

What do you do with your cast-off clothing?
Goodwill usually. Sometimes to friends who it looks better on. ๐Ÿ™‚

<!– D([“mb”,”

What other ways do you go green in your life?

“,1] ); D([“mb”,”

\nI try hard to eat healthy and unprocessed food, from the co-op or local\nfarmers markets. I commute on the local bus system. Walk everywhere I\ncan. I love eco-friendly pre-fab homes. There is a lot more I can do,\nso I think I keep learning and seeing what I can incorporate into my\nlife.

\n:D

\nThanks for asking – –

\nSuzi

\n

\n

\n”,0] ); D([“ce”]); //–>What first inspired your interest in eco-friendly living?
Saving the whales in High School. Seriously, it was very important to me and it just developed from there. I tried being a vegetarian a few times, but could never commit, but I think that guilt drove me to learn more and the more you learn the more you change how you live day to day.

What other ways do you go green in your life?
I try hard to eat healthy and unprocessed food, from the co-op or local farmers markets. I commute on the local bus system. Walk everywhere I can. I love eco-friendly pre-fab homes. There is a lot more I can do, so I think I keep learning and seeing what I can incorporate into my life.

You can find Suzi’s other fashion essays at HellofaGirl. Tune in for future features on Fab Green as Suzi shares her adventures as a burgeoning eco-fashionista in the heartland of America.

No Responses Yet to “Fab Green Welcomes Suzi Smith”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

