Going Green for the Roots Jam

16Feb07

The webcast of the pre-Grammy, 4th annual the Roots Jam is up on G Living! See who came out to lend their eco-support towards promoting composting programs in L.A. schools. VIP giftbags filled with green goodies were given to 75 special celebs. Fab Green joined the press core which was far more friendly and gracious than I expected.

I got to pal around with uber green blogger, Siel aka Green LA Girl. Both of us are camera-shy, but Siel (on the right) pitched in to interview celebs for ecorazzi and proved herself a natural with a mike (girl, I told you so!).

Eco-style spottings were thin on the Green Carpet, so I put in an eco-fashion showing. Let’s break it down:

Alive tee by Under the Canopy in mineral blue-grey (left). This is an unbelievably soft, organic cotton tee that fits like a second skin. The ruched-detail on the cap sleeves give a dressier look to a closet basic. $38 at Under the Canopy.

I wore a solid-colored version of the long-sleeved Conscious Tee. It fits me like a dream, and the scoop neck with ruching gives my tomboy-ish frame a more feminine look.

Underneath I wore Chakra Tank in Mudra Red. Like the other Under the Canopy tops this rib-knit tank fits perfectly. My only complaint is that the back side of the embroidery can be a bit rough and itchy.

The handbag: My Strawberry-colored Anarkali bag by Conserve. I bought this at Hip + Zen last year for an affordable $39, and get tons of compliments when I go out. When I tell people they’re made from recycled plastic bags, and support fairly-traded cooperatives in India they ask me where they can get one. Grab one at Hip and Zen or Overstock.
Thanks to Under the Canopy for sending me samples. Photos courtesy of fashion photographer Ram Gibson. Thanks for sharing Ram!

2 Responses to “Going Green for the Roots Jam”

  1. 1 green LA girl

    Why do I look so stoned in this pic (and who took it!)? Pot is not my drug of choice —

  2. 2 Fabulously Green

    Hmm…I’d say you look happy! Ram Gibson the G Living fashion photog took it.


Leave a Reply

