Back from Kauai

07Feb07

Confession: I ran off to Kauai for the last five days and was so rushed that I’m only writing my hiatus entry now. Landed safely, and am sifting through lots of e-mails from you fine folks. I’ll be posting again sometime tomorrow. Missed you guys!

In the meantime, if you happen to be Kauai-bound yourself, I thought I’d send along a few fab green tips:

My first meal of the trip began at the Blossoming Lotus Restaurant, a gourmet vegan restaurant in the heart of Kapa’a (where my family conveniently stayed). You don’t have to be a vegan to appreciate the dishes (I’m not and my mom is an avid meat lover). The spring rolls were heavenly, the chocolate mousse decadent, and the beet borcht soup was a delight. The entrees were gorgeously presented, though some relied too much on salt, some too sweet, but I loved my udon noodle dish. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name!

I fell in love with the daily sunshine markets — and picked out succulent pineapples, roma tomatoes, taro and warabi from the local farmers (who handed me a recipe to try–which I did). Too bad I couldn’t buy a dozen pineapples to take back–no amount of bribery will get you past those agricultural checks.

I wish I had time to hit the Salvation Army Thrift Shop and other consignment boutiques for vintage Hawaiian fabrics, shirts and dresses. My family was determined to see EVERYTHING (which left little time for shopping), so instead I snuck down my street (Kuhio Hwy) to Vicky’s Fabrics and bought several yards of vintage-inspired prints designed by local artists and unavailable anywhere else. Thrilled! Now I just have to break out the new sewing machine I bought and learn how to thread the needle…

Photo Credit: How adorable is this Hula girl? Courtesy of Sneaky Tiki Boutique, an emerging vintage style and designer jewelry online shop.

No Responses Yet to “Back from Kauai”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

