FG’s Election Fashion

07Nov06

It’s hot as an oven in California on this thrilling election day. Could it be global warming working its political charms? A shame since I had a full election outfit ready that is now too darn hot to wear. Thankfully the most important eco-election garment is wearable on a super summer November day like this.

My Election Must-Haves:
Candidates selected: check.

Proposition measures decided on: check.

Election location identified: check. (this is important because it’s changed for the first time in six years)

Chad Checker: check. Or will it be machines this year?

Voting scorecard made last night (scribbed on a recycled piece of scrap paper): check.

Certified Organic Vote for Change tee: check!

Wow, there are an inordinate amount of things to vote on today if you’re a Californian. Races for Governor, Lt. Governor, Senator, Attorney General, Controller, 1001 Arabian judges, 13 propositions. Maybe I should bring a sandwich. And a sleeping bag.

Thanks to my eco-dudette Siel aka GreenLAGirl, League of Women Voters, Jason and Rob for the initial low-down, debates and resources so I can be reasonably informed. I was on the internet for at least another two hours afterwards.

And a special thanks to the folks at COTAM for sending me this most excellent Vote for Change Shirt! Printed on a sweatshop-free American Apparel fitted babydoll tee, I’m now properly dressed for the occasion.

Note of Clarification: It’s 87 degrees in the office today with no A/C. So technically, I’m not wearing the shown garment above anymore (that was my morning gear). By stroke of great green luck, I discovered I had won a free Vote for Change TANK TOP this week at G Living (who work in the same building). So I’ve made the switch and get to spread some voting spirit all day afterall.

See you at the polls!

No Responses Yet to “FG’s Election Fashion”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

